Commission on Women


110 Fifth Street, Salem, NJ 08079  |  856-935-7510 x8203

Meetings: 2nd Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. (except July and August) in the Ware Agricultural Complex, 51 Cheney Road, Pilesgrove, NJ 08098

Resolution 84-171:
Advisory Commission to the Freeholder Board on educating the public on women’s issues/problems and improve relationships between women and county government.

2016 Officers:
Linda A. DuBois
Vice President: Sally Mauer
Recording Secretary: Elaine Dunner
Treasurer: Joyce Skradzinski
Freeholder Members:
Dale A. Cross and Lee R. Ware

Loretta Elwell, Elsinboro (2017)
Charlotte Dorn, Oldmans (2018)
Sally Maurer, Pilesgrove (2017)
BJ Ayars, Elsinboro (2017)
Maureen Fernandez, Oldmans (2016)
Elaine Dunner, Pilesgrove (2017)
Lynn Barnhart Pennsville (2016)
Missi Jones, Carneys Point (2018)
Alice Dennis, Carneys Point (2018)
Terry Ostrander, Pennsville (2016)
Diana Hughes, Pennsville (2016)
Cindy S. LaRosa, Carneys Point (2018)
Linda A. DuBois, Pittsgrove, (2018)
Joyce Skradzinski, Alloway, (2017)
Brenda Banks, Pennsville (2018)


2016 Annual Nancy W. Timberman Scholarship Award

Salem County Commission on Women announces 2016 “Nancy Timberman Scholarship” is now available.  This scholarship is open to all women in Salem County who are graduating from high school and are going on to higher education.  We are proud to be able to offer a $1000 scholarship to a qualified female planning to increase her education.

Submission Deadline: May 6, 2016

Qualifications: Graduating female senior residing in Salem County planning to attend any accredited 2 or 4 year college or trade school (such as the Salem County Vocational School).

Award: $1,000 Scholarship

How to apply:

Complete the attached application and return it to the address below with the following documentation before the deadline of May 9, 2016:

  • Two references with addresses, telephone numbers, and email addresses.  References may not be relatives.
  • Essay of 500 words or less on “If you could meet a woman in history, who would she be and why would you want to meet her?”

Return completed application by mail:
Salem County Commission on Women, Fifth Street Complex, 110 Fifth Street, Salem, NJ 08079
Or by email:

Download the 2016 Annual Nancy W. Timberman Award Application here

Hard copies of application available at: Fifth Street Complex, 110 Fifth Street, Salem, NJ 08079

Former Women of Achievement Honorees

2016 – Karen Berry, Martha Nealor, Gail Slaughter, Casey Lyn Abhau, Debbie Rambo, Marianne DeMarco, Carol Reese, Maureen Humphreys, Beth Timberman, Connie Quather, WYN (Group)
–  Patty Bomba, Beth Davenport, Debbie Gralley, Sue Ann Leighty, Britney Lilya, Diane McAllister, Brenda O’Donald, Dawn Parker, Patti Schnieder, Kathleen Sheffield
2014 – Debbie Ashcraft, Karen S. Ayars, Elaine Dunner, Pam Holmes, Jennifer Robinson
2013 – Kathy Bodine, Christine DeGraff, Sherry L. Dougherty, Freda Earnest, Christine Hooks, Jan P. Long, Margaret Maxwell-Mood, Karen Tuthill, Michelle Yangello, Needlework Guild of America: Salem County Branch
2012 – Jeanette Belitza, Peggy Haines, Valerie Lacy, Pearl Parris, Debbie Sickler, Regina Shuster, Kim Smith, Patricia Snyder, Sherri Watts, Girl Scouts of Central and Southern New Jersey
2010 – D. Ann Hathaway, Terri Foster, Evelyn Shuman, Robin Buoncuore
2009 – Joy Epstein, Lorraine Kite, Mary E. Palfrey, Dr. Jin-Pill Kim, Minnie Ware
2008 – Gwyn Parris Atwell, Cora Santiago, Donna Federanko-Stout, Anna Claxton, Mary L. Trapani
2007 – Geraldine Brown, Barbara Dawson, Arline Field, Dorothy Kramme, Elizabeth Meyers, Karen Roots, Ceil Smith
2006 – Grace Alliegro, Dorothy Bunting, Eleanor Clunn, Carolyn Furio, Josie Moore, Alice Waddington
2005 –  Betty Jean Eby, Sharon Kellum, Netta Godfrey Layman, Cheryl Lowe, Janet Munyan, Kathy Ridley, Lydia Thompson, Mary Ellen Volkmar
2004 – Debra Behnke, Betsy Davis, Sandra Dorrell, Marilyn Lindenmuth, Kay Schrier, Rita Shade, Linda Smith, Marylou Timberman, Maizie Williams, Mary Wilson
2003 – Joan M. Baille, Donna A. Bruno, Beth Detwiler, Doris N. Moore, Debbie Pettit, BJ Ayers, Carol B. Tighe
2002 – Sr. Carol Adams, Jean Bishop, Patricia Braxton, Lori Couch, Joyce Massey, Darlene Maxwell, Eleanor Peak Zane
2001 – Virginia Boardman, June Hale Elwell, Laura Jean DeMaris, Joan Hassler , Louise Moore
2000 – Rose Bestwick, Beverly Dodge, Nellie Kates Fogg, Jennifer Jones, Donna Miller, Myra Detra Robinson, Doris Stewart
1999 – Nyada Giles Clark, Annette Devitt, Angela Greenwald, Kathryn Hines, Almeda Johnson, Katherine Malosak, Lovia Parker, Dorothy Toulson
1998 – Jeanette Burgess, Theresa Haaf, Selma Levitsky, Martha Rogers, Sharon Schultz, Ann Tatnall, Cindy Waddington, Mauriel Wallace, Dorothy Ward
1997 – Florida Dixon, Patricia Drager, Sally Funk, Caroline Hourani, Ella Lake, Joanne Marone, Dr. Audrey Pettijohn, Rebecca Purchase
1996 – Ida Acoo, Janet Agnew, Marlena Bauman, Mary Coombs, Dr. Linda Jeffrey, Edythe Montgomery, Ellen Nakamura, Lucille Pote, Estelle Sherman
1995 – Kathleen Bohren, Gail Boyd, Doris Grell, Meryl Hendrickson, Anne Henky, Minnie Quatrini, Janet Richmond, Joan Wentzell
1994 – Thelma Carey, Jean Casper, Kathleen Chance, Winifred Coney, Claudia Fuse, Susan Getman, Dr. Linda Jolly,Verna Murray, Shirley Ohlsen, Barbara Smith
1993 – Helen Acton, Florence Ahl, Jean Bailey, Pat Bullock, Doris Dague, Mary June Kershner, Nellie Rodriquez, Elizabeth Slusser
1992 – Geraldine Burt, Betty Cobb, Dr. Goldana Cramer, Hazel Anne Davis, Dr. Rachel Davis Dubois, Janet Emmons, Mary Leptien, Virginia Powell, Janet Sheridan, Mary Slusher
1991 – Doris Bryant, Callie Davis, Mary T. Davis, Gertrude Evans, Ann Gardner, Gilda Gill, Jean Hepner-Jack, Aleasa Hogate, Dr. Willetta Mulhorn, Mary Saletra
1990 – Mae Allen, Dorothy Anthony, Elizabeth Fogg, Sally Larrabee, Margaret Mahala, Judy Marraccini, Isabel Myers, Carrie Robinson
1989 – Mollie Archer, Janice Barry, Mildred Beardsley, Julia Branan, Nancy Diehl, Joan Dyer, Shirley Brooks, Trudi Hathaway, Sr. Marian Hummell, Gloria Jennings, Jane Master


2014 Luncheon


2014 Women of Achievement Luncheon, including Honorees: Debbie Ashcraft, Karen S. Ayars, Elaine Dunner, Pam Holmes, Jennifer Robinson


Luncheon was held on March 31, 2012 at the Washington Club, in Penns Grove, NJ Left to right: Chairman Joan Cole, Pearl Parris, Freeholder Beth Timberman, Peg Haines, Jeannette Belitza, Valerie Spence-Lacy, Regina Shuster, Pat Snyder, Debbie Sickler, Kim Smith, & Sherri Watts

Luncheon was held on March 31, 2012 at the Washington Club, in Penns Grove, NJ
Left to right: Chairman Joan Cole, Pearl Parris, Freeholder Beth Timberman, Peg Haines, Jeannette Belitza, Valerie Spence-Lacy, Regina Shuster, Pat Snyder, Debbie Sickler, Kim Smith, & Sherri Watts

Joan Cole and Jean Jack persuade Evern Ford to buy a brownie.

Joan Cole and Jean Jack persuade Evern Ford to buy a brownie.

Click to View : Commission on Women Road Rally Video – High Resolution